Showing: 7 RESULTS

Game of Strength and Storm

If victory is the only option, what lengths need to be taken to achieve it? ‘Game of Strength and Storm’ by Rachel Menard is considered a gender bent reimagining of the labours of Hercules with a fierce rivalry and race driving the action in this world inspired by Greek mythology. With clever and innovative magic …

The Counselors

When you are surrounded by people you’ve known for the best parts of your life, deciding if one of them might be a killer isn’t an easy task. Jessica Goodman’s ‘The Counselors’ is an engaging summer camp mystery, delving into contrasting worlds that are meant to be kept apart. When worlds collide hidden aspects of …

She’s Too Pretty to Burn

Reimagining of Picture of Dorian Grey with the ultimate dysfunctional relationships between main characters Veronica, and Mick, as well as best friend Nico. She’s too pretty to burn explores the intersection between love, art, power and violence. Each character struggles with their own life while balancing the growing obsessions that ultimately tumble out of control. …

Ahsoka

If a Star Wars fan or not, Ahsoka is a great read for all. Follow the Jedi as she evades capture after Order 66. E.K. Johnson’s writing and storytelling remained true to the Star Wars universe and the protagonist’s personality, while intricately detailing her thoughts and actions throughout the journey. The former student of Anakin …

Horror Hotel

Inspired by the events at the infamous Cecil Hotel, Horror hotel is a young adult horror read told from the changing point of view between the four main characters, who are investigating a supposedly haunted hostel for their YouTube channel. Perfect for fans of Ghostbusters, and great for young readers looking for a scare. The …

The Firekeepers Daughter.

An intriguing but heartbreaking story Firekeepers Daughter reads equal parts YA thriller and equal parts love letter to Ojibwe community’s which have faced the same struggles as those in this book. With a story that teaches you about Native American culture, including traditions, language, history, and the importance of family. It is partially a suspenseful …

All eyes on her

Usually, you only hear one side of the story: that it was a tragic accident which could have been easily avoided. But in this mystery, you get to see the story in every possible way. A searing look at gender roles that is loaded with barded zingers on unfair expectations from the way that society …