Showing: 13 RESULTS

She’s Too Pretty to Burn

Reimagining of Picture of Dorian Grey with the ultimate dysfunctional relationships between main characters Veronica, and Mick, as well as best friend Nico. She’s too pretty to burn explores the intersection between love, art, power and violence. Each character struggles with their own life while balancing the growing obsessions that ultimately tumble out of control. …

Ahsoka

If a Star Wars fan or not, Ahsoka is a great read for all. Follow the Jedi as she evades capture after Order 66. E.K. Johnson’s writing and storytelling remained true to the Star Wars universe and the protagonist’s personality, while intricately detailing her thoughts and actions throughout the journey. The former student of Anakin …

Blade of Secrets

In a world where magic is the most powerful thing there is, one girl makes her living off it. Meet Ziva, an eighteen year old girl who along with her sister sells weapons imbued with Ziva’s magic. But her whole world is turned upside down after a warlord meets her. The book’s main story revolves …

Gearbreakers

Gearbreakers was such a fun novel, with lovable characters and intriguing world building. I loved every one of the band of rebels that Eris, one of the protagonists, was the leader of. Their chaotic and compelling group dynamic was so enjoyable to read. Eris and Sona’s relationship was well developed and satisfying to watch unfold. …

I loved Firekeeper’s Daughter. It was a gripping, fast-paced thriller that is balanced out with slower moments of character development. Firekeeper’s Daughter teaches so much about Ojibwe culture in an interesting way that doesn’t affect the pacing. The characters felt so real and I loved watching Daunis, the protagonist, grow throughout the story. Although I …

The Agathas

This book captured my attention for many different reasons such as why some cases were seen as more worthwhile or beneficial due to things like race, gender, age and class. It truly horrified me that some deaths would make headlines in the papers for days whereas other deaths would be dismissed and forgotten. The book …

Horror Hotel

Inspired by the events at the infamous Cecil Hotel, Horror hotel is a young adult horror read told from the changing point of view between the four main characters, who are investigating a supposedly haunted hostel for their YouTube channel. Perfect for fans of Ghostbusters, and great for young readers looking for a scare. The …

The Firekeepers Daughter.

An intriguing but heartbreaking story Firekeepers Daughter reads equal parts YA thriller and equal parts love letter to Ojibwe community’s which have faced the same struggles as those in this book. With a story that teaches you about Native American culture, including traditions, language, history, and the importance of family. It is partially a suspenseful …

All eyes on her

Usually, you only hear one side of the story: that it was a tragic accident which could have been easily avoided. But in this mystery, you get to see the story in every possible way. A searing look at gender roles that is loaded with barded zingers on unfair expectations from the way that society …

Iron widow

A book that promotes equality and is set on a post-apocalyptic world. The people pilot giant metal robots. After the protagonist’s sister dies in a prologue, the protagonist Wu Zetian makes it her mission to kill the person who did it. In this world, girls are expected to offer themselves as concubine pilots to the …