ISBN: 9780552552097
Series Number: 1
Categories: ,
Published: 2004
Eragon, a fifteen-year-old boy of unknown lineage, is shocked to discover a dragon egg and soon finds his life weaved into an intricate tapestry of destiny, magic, and power, peopled with dragons, elves, and monsters.

The book Eragon (Book One in The Inheritance Cycle series), written by Christopher Paolini, is a
deep, powerful and extraordinary novel. Eragon takes us on a journey through the perspective of
our title character. Brom, a friend Eragon has known since he was young, is a storyteller. He would
tell stories of dragons, Rider’s, past Kings, and Queens. Brom’s friendship with Eragon forged
amazing and unforgiving talents and knowledge. Not much can be said further about the plot of
Eragon without revealing spoilers. However, Paolini’s wording flourishes within the hearts of all the
characters and readers. Eragon’s feelings perfectly flow onto the paper. His path twists and turns,
pivoting on the edge of utter doom, and gracefully sweeping into occasional flecks of peace. Eragon
is amazing, I recommend it to people who are up for a longer read, an enticing story and an array of
gore and bloodshed – then this is for you! Therefore enjoy, and read on.

Reviewed by Sienna A. – Year 8 – Salesian College Sunbury